Wireless Companies:
Alltel Reviews
AT&T Reviews
Cellular One
Cingular Wireless Reviews
Cricket Communications Reviews
Nextel Reviews
Sprint Reviews
T-Mobile Reviews
Verizon Wireless Reviews
US Cellular


Cell Phones:
Audiovox cell phone reviews
Handspring cell phone reviews
Kyocera cell phone reviews
LG cell phone reviews
Motorola cell phone reviews
Nokia cell phone reviews
Panasonic cell phone reviews
Samsung cell phone reviews
Sanyo cell phone reviews
Sony Ericsson cell phone reviews


Contact Us

Home » Alltel Reviews

Alltel Reviews.

The Alltel reviews below are from current or previous Alltel customers. None of the individuals who wrote a review have been paid to endorse Alltel.

Number of reviews: 10
Coverage 3.20/5 3.2000 1.8
Call Quality 3.60/5 3.6000 1.4
Customer Service 2.20/5 2.2000 2.8
Cost Benefit 2.80/5 2.8000 2.2
Overall rating: 2.95/5 2.95000000 2.05


User Reviews and Comments:

On 01/04/2007, Chris Gutierrez from Clovis, New Mexico wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 1   Call Quality: 3   Customer Service: 2   Cost Benefit: 1
  This could possibly be the worst cell phone company in New Mexico.

On 10/12/2006, eh from salina, Kansas wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 4   Call Quality: 4   Customer Service: 1   Cost Benefit: 2
  Coverage is good but never have a phone problem. Customer dervice to take care of a phone issue even with the phone insurance is a pathetic joke. The claim is ALWAYS moisture in the phone, no matter what the actual issue is. There is a little moisture sensor on the battery of your phone and also one on the phone itself. The battery sensor will turn red over time from moisture of fingers touching it, humid conditions, carrying your phone in a pocket or in your purse or car during hot conditions. So even though your sensor on the phone itself is fine, becuase the battery indicator Always turns red, they will require the FULL $50.00 deductable because you have physical damage to your phone. I have had this issue 4 times in 5 years with alltel(I have 4 phones on my account). I know going in that I will leave very angry and unsatisfied. How is that for customer service?

On 08/26/2006, Chuck Armstrong from Greenville, Alabama wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 4   Call Quality: 5   Customer Service: 5   Cost Benefit: 4
  After reading the reveiws, I must admit that my Alltel service has been far better than most everyone else. I have been an Alltel user since 1997 without any breaks in service. I have had several problems with the stores and have called customer service many times but they have always handled my problem with the utmost professional service they can. I have even checked on other cell providers trying to get the best bang for my dollar, if you check the service area against the others in my area Alltel beats them all. I have bought some junk phones before, but I tried to go cheap, if I spend a litt;e money I usually get a good phone. The rates could get a little better, but if you use the mobile to mobile, my circle, and contact customer service a few times about what is the best paln for my calling habits they generally help your bill a little. If I left Alltel then I would become a Nextel person, its the next best that I have found.

On 04/03/2006, CJ from Whiteville, North Carolina wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 2   Call Quality: 3   Customer Service: 4   Cost Benefit: 3
  The service in this area of NC is STAGNANT. It's been pretty much the same since Alltel was 360 Communications. We've been promised a tower in Tabor City and other local areas for at least five years. EVERY other carrier in this area has BETTER deals and more minutes for the money. The one good thing I can say is that Alltel does have good Customer Service ON THE PHONE. Don't bother going to ANY of the Whiteville, Lumberton or local area stores. They all have HORRIBLE Customer Service -- too few reps; too much attitude; too lazy to do better.

On 02/15/2006, abe from parkersburg west, Virginia wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 5   Call Quality: 5   Customer Service: 0   Cost Benefit: 5
  I got the free Nokia with my plan wife purchased an LG. I have great service when she does not. No complaints with this phone. Very durable have had to years and dropped many times. Two of my friends recently got this base model phone not sure which model but it replaced their high tech phones and both have complemented the nokia.

On 02/15/2006, abe from parkersburg west, Virginia wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 4   Call Quality: 4   Customer Service: 4   Cost Benefit: 4
  I have had Alltel for 2 years I travel alot and I have always had better service than my work phones Nextel and US cellular. I am on the national plan and have never been roaming the phone will say its roaming when not on an alltel tower but there is a triangle that flashes to let you know you are not. I don't text or pic message so can't rate that. I have two lines one for me and my wife that way we don't need a home phone.

On 05/08/2005, Stephanie Deneault from Concordia, Kansas wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 2   Call Quality: 2   Customer Service: 3   Cost Benefit: 3
  I have the nationwide plan which works fine where i live. When i traveled this last summer my roaming was flashing, even though i wasn't charged for it why was it doing that? When i'm in wichita i can't retrieve my voicemail, but i can still make calls. This is by far the most annoying thing seeing how i thought i had nationwide coverage and i'm moving there. the call quality is bad due to the phone being a motorola(never get one). The customer service up here has been very friendly but they get nothing accomplished. it definitely takes several phone calls and being assertive. the cost is pretty good considering that i get unlimited mobile to mobile and night and weekend minutes. i don't think that i will ever go through them again unless i absolutely have to.

On 05/03/2005, Steve Britt from Phoenix, Arizona wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 3   Call Quality: 3   Customer Service: 1   Cost Benefit: 2
  I have had nothing but trouble with this cellular phone service. After previously having service through Cellular One, then Voicestream, then Verizon (yes, I've tried them all), I took over my brother in law's contract through Alltel. This was in October of 2000. After multiple attempts by him and me to change the contract name and address to my own, we were finally successful in February. It took several phone calls and one visit to the East Mesa store, plus filling out a new credit application TWICE to change the billing to my name. As soon as that was done, they started billing me at a higher rate, not at his contract rate as they should have (as I was simply taking over his existing plan). Throughout the summer, after they changed to a new billing system (as I was told), they are billing me per minute on top of my service contract which allows 200 minutes free. I visited the East Mesa store in person about 3 weeks ago and paid my bill then, at which time the agent told me that she would take care of the billing problem. But today I got a disconnect notice for an outstanding balance equivalent to the amount that was supposed to be forgiven due to their billing system error. When I try to call their 800# for customer service, I am put on interminable hold, or as happened today, I was told to hang up and call a Phoenix office directly because the call center's computer system did not go back more than 30 days!!! Then the Phoenix office told me my hold time would be more than 15 minutes

On 05/03/2005, Amanda Peterson from Columbia, Missouri wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 4   Call Quality: 4   Customer Service: 1   Cost Benefit: 2
  I have been wanting a cell phone for the longest time but never knew what was the best deals. Then one day when i walked into a walmart store and talked to an Alltel associate, he persuaded me to finally get one. At first it sounded like a good deal. I paid $35 for 700 minutes, 200 peak and 500 off peak hours. The first month, everything went great.

Then the second month came and I decided i wanted to upgrade my service to a $50 unlimited package. I pay $50/month, get unlimited minutes peak and off peak, have a smaller coverage area and no long distance. Sounds likes a good deal, right? Yeah right!!!!

I had to get a new digital phone for that. Analog phones were not usable. So i bought a new phone and was not told that I was gonna be charged a phone activation fee again, when i was only an alltel customer for one month!!! I was only expecting to pay $50 every month but for the past 2 months my bill have been at least $90. They would come up with some weird stuff to charge to my account. I was even charged roaming for my home city!!!! on top of that over the period of the 3 months i've had service with Alltel, my phone have been shut off a total of 25 times for no apparent reason. I have to call customer service everytime, spend so much time telling them what the situation is and then they'll switch it back on.

Finally, i got so mad, i wrote a letter of complain and sent it to the regional manager and also to the store i got it from.


On 05/03/2005, Mike Murphy from ., North Carolina wrote:
Rating: Coverage: 3   Call Quality: 3   Customer Service: 1   Cost Benefit: 2
  I went into Alltel today; my phone had staoped working it was one of the new slider phones. So I thought that I would just let them trade it out cuz the problem was not my falt it was that of the software. I was told that I would have to pay 50 Dollars, for something that I could not control. I don't think so. The they say we can have it fixed it will take 3-4 weeks; but we will give you a loaner phone that ain't worth spit. The topper I signed up for Text messaging, 40 outgoing and 50 incoming. They changed my accout and bill and charged me 1,000 outgoing and unlimt. in coming. With out my notice or verification.

Click here
Copyright 2004-2005 - Wireless Phone Reviews